By admin 12 September 2019

Dreams Coming True With The SSC CGL Exam

While growing up, children are always encouraged to study well and get good marks. When they ask why, parents answer, ‘So that you have a better future.’ Little do children understand what that means, but parents always want to make sure that a ‘better future’ becomes the single most crucial motto of their child’s life. Job security is an essential factor in ensuring a better tomorrow. One of the kinds of jobs that offer prolonged job security is government jobs. Government jobs not only provide a chance to serve the country but also offer a long list of benefits. The benefits include a regular secured income with increment every year, paid holidays and housing accommodations, pension plans, provident fund, and a profound sense of social respect. For pursuing a government administrative job right after graduation, one has to clear the SSC Combined Graduate Level Examination. More information, about the exam, is provided below.

Staff Selection Commission Combined Graduate Level Exam

This examination is conducted for the selection of different posts in ministries, government departments, and organizations, by the Staff Selection Commission of India. The commission was established in 1975. The exam has four different tiers. It is a skill-based exam. Different areas like general knowledge, Reasoning, Aptitude, etc. are evaluated. The exam is conducted annually, with approximately 1.5 million candidates applying every year.

  • Eligibility: The candidates must have a bachelor’s degree from a university recognized by the government of India. The age of candidates can range from twenty to thirty years. The age often varies with the different positions that the candidates choose to apply for.
  • Application Fee: The application fee is Rs. 100. However, women candidates and the candidates of reserved classes are exempted from the fee payment.

Structure of the Exam

The exam is conducted in four tiers. This means that the candidate has to appear for four different exams to clear SSC CGL.

These exams are as follows –

Tier 1: Preliminary

This tier has objective type questions. The duration of the exam is sixty minutes. The exam consists of a hundred multiple-choice questions.

Tier 2: Mains Exam

This tier comprises of a descriptive test. It has two papers of English and Mathematics, for two hundred marks each. The duration of the exam is two hours.

Tier 3: Descriptive Paper

This is a subjective exam with a duration of one hour.

Tier 4: Data Entry Skill Test

The final level is a typing/computer proficiency exam. This exam is more of a skill test, which is qualifying in nature.


The exam is a hard nut to crack. But to achieve the extraordinary in life, one must put in an extraordinary amount of effort too. Keeping in mind the kind of social security a government job offers, many people opt for this exam. The exam can be cleared with the right preparation. While some people prepare for the exam themselves, others choose SSC CGL Preparation classes. The coaching centers can help the candidates prepare smartly and efficiently. For the candidates who want to study at home with expert guidance, there is the facility of online SSC CGL Coaching. Various institutes offer these facilities at affordable prices.

Government jobs are a wholesome way to spend your life. The advantages of government jobs are numerous. Cracking your way into them is the tough part. Thankfully, different offline and online services make the chances of clearing the selection exam better and brighter.

With determination, hard work, and the experienced guidance of professionals, your dream of bagging a government job can come true. Preparing and clearing SSC CGL Coaching can help you find the light at the end of the tunnel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Fill the form below

Join Online Live Class